Skip to content

Otunba Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke Memorial Cup: More Teams Qualify For Round Of 16 After Day Five.

More teams have booked their place in the Round of sixteen of the ongoing Otunba Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke Memorial Cup.

Three teams progressed on Saturday at the Anwaru-Islam Grammar School, Iwo, Community High School, Ile-Igbo and Aiyedaade Grammar School, Ikire.

While two more booked their Round of sixteen Places on Monday at the Agboran Grammar School Ede.

On Saturday, Nurudeen Aremu’s 36th minute goal and Bello Shuiab’s 90th minute goal, gave Atenigbola FC Iwo a 2-0 edge over their rival Ola-Oluwa Utd. In the second game played on Matchday four, Ayedire United beat Aiyedaade United by a loan goal, scored by Ismail Ojo in the 21st Minute.

Azeez Sodiq’s 29th minute goal was all Isokan United FC, Apomu needed to defeat neighbours Akinreere FC, Irewole.

On Matchday five at the Agboran Grammar School, Ede, Ede City Boys progressed, after scoring thrice, against their opponent, Ede United, who could only put the ball in the net just twice.

Egbedore United advanced after playing out a goalless draw against Ogiyan FC, Ejigbo in Ninety minute of play, before winning 4-0 via penalties.

MatchDay 6 games will be played on Wednesday, the 14th Of December at the Ife Anglican Grammar School, Ife.

Oodua Warriors FC, Ife Central will face Knight FC, Ife East, by 10am, while Origbo Utd, Ife North, will meet Ife South FC, by 12pm for two slots in the round of 16.

So far, fourteen teams have qualified for the round of sixteen..

Otunba Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke Memorial Cup 2022/2023.

Fourteen (14) Teams Are Already Through To The Round Of 16, two more will join, after Wednesday games.

Osun State FA Team | Olorunda United| Otin Babes| Ila United FC| Orolu Utd| Boluwaduro FC| Ilesa East| Atakumosa East FC| Oriade FC | Atenigbola FC, Iwo| Ayedire United| Isokan United, Apomu| Ede City Boys| Egbedore United.

The Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke Memorial Cup Competition was initiated by Honourable Bamidele Salam in the year 2020, to immortalize the selfless, philanthropic service of the first civilian Governor of Osun State, who was a former Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and an astute Politician when he was alive.

The third edition of the Competition has being expanded to involve selected Football Clubs from the 30 Local Governments in Osun State and the Ife East Area Office.

Adeleke Dynasty FC & Eyiowuawi FC are the past winners of the prestigious Memorial Football Championship.


Oluchi Tobe-Chukwu

Oluchi Tobe-Chukwu popularly known as tobex is the Vice chairman of Sports writers Association of Nigeria , lagos Chapter. She Is also the Media Spokesperson of the Super Falcons of Nigeria. She is an award winning women's football writer. Tobex is also an ex footballer that was privileged to play in the first NFF organised women's league in 1990 as a player of Hamza Queens. Her last club as an active footballer was Ibom Angels as She paved way to further her education years ago. She is a Federal Government scholar , with a degree in Mass communication, a second degree in Public Relations and Advertising (Communication Studies). She is a Wife and Mother.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to content