Skip to content

Prof Akin Oyebode U-15 Football Competition: Ado LFC U-15 are champions of boys category; Golden FC claims Gold in the girls category 

Ado LFC U15 boys team and Golden football club also from Ado Ekiti are the top prize winners in the boys and girls categories respectively as the maiden edition of the Prof. Akin Oyebode U-15 Football Competition for boys and girls ended with a football fiesta at the Ikole township stadium, Ikole Ekiti – the country home of the celebrated patriarch.

Peter Abiodun’s freekick goal within the first 5 minutes against an inspired Irepodun Ifelodun U-15 side handed the boys in blue the trophy as winners of the boys category.

There was another 5 minutes magic in the female category when Golden FC scored three early goals over their opponent, enough to sail them through to the podium as champions of the girls category.

Earlier, Fatoba Queens Feeders of Ado Ekiti picked the third position in the female category after triumphing through penalty kicks with a 3-2 win over Osetoba Babes from Emure Ekiti on the heels of a one all draw before Gbonyin U-15 pipped Efon U-15 to the boys bronze medals with a narrow one nil victory scored by the enterprising forward, Seun Lateef.

The grand finale was graced by members of the Prof. Akin Oyebode family led by the Honorable Commissioner for Finance and Economic Development in Ekiti State, Hon. Akintunde Oyebode, the Hon. Commissioner for Health and Humanitarian Services, Dr. Oyebanji Filani, Coach of the naytional U-17 Female team (the Flamingoes), Coach Bankole Olowookere, Media Officer of the Super Falcons of Nigeria, Mrs. Oluchi Tobe-Chukwu, scouts from Iganmu FC, Lagos, top journalists from across Nigeria and football administrators within and outside Ekiti State.

There were eating, drinking and dancing for the participating teams including presentation of Certificates of Participation together with the Individual Awards of excellence to outstanding players in the boys and girls category.


Best goalkeeper –
Halimat Abdulkareem

Highest goal scorer – Paschaline Adelabu

Most valuable player – Marvelous Jegede


Best goalkeeper – Halimat Abdulkareem

Highest goal scorer – Chinonso Uche

Most valuable player – Peter Abiodun

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to content