Skip to content

Betsy Obaseki Women Football Tournament Dolls Out 15m Naira Prize Money

Organisers of Betsy Obaseki Women Football Tournament, Monday, gave out the prize money to winners of the tournament which ended weekend.

The overall winners, Bayelsa Queens FC got their account credited with the sum of 5million naira, First runners up, Rivers Angels FC got 3million naira, second runners up, Edo Queens FC, 2million naira while Robo FC was paid 1million naira for coming fourth in the tournament.

The eight teams that crashed out of the tournament earlier on were given consolation prizes of 500, 000 naira each before their departure from Benin City.

A statement from the chairman, organising committee, Mrs Sabina Chikere says the payment was in fulfilment of the First Lady of Edo State, Mrs Betsy Obaseki’s commitment to jack up the initial prize money of 3million naira, 2million naira,1million naira and 500,000 thousand naira.

While appreciating God for His mercy, the teams and their officials for their peaceful conduct all through the 10 days event, Chikere says it looks forward to their participation in the second edition of the football tournament.

“The committee also appreciates corporate bodies and individual who stood by it to make the tournament a huge success”, the chairman concluded.


Oluchi Tobe-Chukwu

Oluchi Tobe-Chukwu popularly known as tobex is the Vice chairman of Sports writers Association of Nigeria , lagos Chapter. She Is also the Media Spokesperson of the Super Falcons of Nigeria. She is an award winning women's football writer. Tobex is also an ex footballer that was privileged to play in the first NFF organised women's league in 1990 as a player of Hamza Queens. Her last club as an active footballer was Ibom Angels as She paved way to further her education years ago. She is a Federal Government scholar , with a degree in Mass communication, a second degree in Public Relations and Advertising (Communication Studies). She is a Wife and Mother.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to content