Skip to content

Otunba Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke Memorial Cup: Things To Know Ahead Of Round Of 16 Ties.

The round of 32 games of the 2022/2023 edition of the Otunba Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke Memorial Cup is over and sixteen teams will battle it out for eight quarter final spots, starting from Monday, the 19th of December.

Last year finalist, Egbedore FC will be looking at getting into the finals again this year, and were lucky not to have been knocked out by Ogiyan FC, Ejigbo, as they progressed 4-3 via penalties.

Defending Champions Ede City Boys beat Ede United by 3-2, in an enthralling derby game, played at the Agboran School Of Science Football Pitch.

The first unexpected twist was the early exit of Osogbo United. The more experienced side fell to neighbours Olorunda Utd in the Round of 32.

Twenty Eight (28) goals were scored altogether in the round of 32, with the highest number of goals coming from the game between Ede City Boys and Ede United (5 Goals Altogether).

Three games ended in a draw and was decided through penalties. Osun FA game against Area Council, Ogiyan FC, Ejigbo against Egbedore Utd and the game between Boripe United and Boluwaduro United FC.

Gafar Mumeen from Orolu Utd , Dunsin Faloye of Ilesa East United and Gbolahan Sanusi of Ede City Boys are the only three players who scored twice in the round of 32.

Otunba Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke Memorial Cup 2022/2023.

Round Of 16 Fixtures. All Matches Will Be Played At The Osogbo City Stadium.

Monday| 19th Of December|

Osun F.A Team Vs Oriade Utd FC | 10am.

Olorunda Utd Vs Odo-Otin Utd| 12pm.

Friday| 23rd Of December|

Boluwaduro FC Vs Orolu Utd| 10am

Ila United FC Vs Isokan United FC, Apomu| 12pm..

Monday | 26th Of December|

Ilesa East FC Vs Ife East FC| 10am

Atakumosa East Vs Ife South FC| 12pm

Wednesday| 28th December|

Iwo United FC Vs Ede South FC| 10am

Ayedire United Vs Egbedore United|12pm.

The Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke Memorial Cup Competition was initiated by Honourable Bamidele Salam in the year 2020, to immortalize the selfless, philanthropic service of the first civilian Governor of Osun State, who was a former Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and an astute Politician when he was alive.

The third edition of the Competition has being expanded to involve selected Football Clubs from the 30 Local Governments in Osun State and the Ife East Area Office.

Adeleke Dynasty FC & Eyiowuawi FC are the past winners of the prestigious Memorial Football Championship


Oluchi Tobe-Chukwu

Oluchi Tobe-Chukwu popularly known as tobex is the Vice chairman of Sports writers Association of Nigeria , lagos Chapter. She Is also the Media Spokesperson of the Super Falcons of Nigeria. She is an award winning women's football writer. Tobex is also an ex footballer that was privileged to play in the first NFF organised women's league in 1990 as a player of Hamza Queens. Her last club as an active footballer was Ibom Angels as She paved way to further her education years ago. She is a Federal Government scholar , with a degree in Mass communication, a second degree in Public Relations and Advertising (Communication Studies). She is a Wife and Mother.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to content