Skip to content

Otunba Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke Memorial Football Cup: Egbedore United Emerges Champion Pockets N1m Prize Money.

Egbedore United emerged winner of the 2023 edition of the Otunba Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke Memorial Football Championship after defeating Osun Football Academy 8-7 via penalties.

The match which was played at the Osogbo City Stadium, had in attendance great dignitaries led by the Executive Governor of Osun State, Senator Ademola Adeleke, who performed the official Kick Off ceremony alongside the initiator of the tournament, Rep Bamidele Salam, his Deputy, Prince Kola Adewusi, Yeye Dupe Adeleke-Sanni, Chief Deji Adeleke, Chief Of Staff, Alhaji Kasim Akinleye, Secretary to the State Government, Mr. Teslim Igbalaye, Senatorial Candidates of the PDP, Akogun Leere Oyewunmi, Olubiyi Fadeyi, Former Chairman of Osun PDP, Chief Sunday Bisi and many other top Government functionaries in the state.

The Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke Memorial Cup Football Competition was initiated by Honourable Bamidele Salam in the year 2020, to immortalize the selfless, philanthropic services of the first civilian Governor of Osun State, who was a former Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and an astute Politician when he was alive.

Royal Fathers who also attended the yearly event, includes The Timi of Ede, Oba Munirudeen Lawal, Ataoja of Osogbo, Oba Jimoh Olanipekun Oyetunji, Alara of Ara, Oba Olubayo Adesola Windapo, Oludo of Ido-Osun, Oba Aderemi Adedapo and the Alawo of Awo Oba Abdulrasaq Ajiboye.

Egbedore United, whose best finish last year was second place later proved worthy Champions, as they defeated Osun FA, 8-7 via penalties to emerge Champions after a goalless full time score line.

In the losers final played earlier, Ilesa East finished in third place after defeating Ila United 5-4 via penalties, as both sides played out a 3-3 draw in regulation time.

Medals and Trophy was presented to the Winner, first runner up and second runner up, as Champions Egbedore United smiled home with a cash prize of One Million Naira, Second placed Osun FA, N500,000, Third placed Ilesa East FC pocketed N300,000, while fourth placed Ila United bowed out with N100, 000 as Prize Money.

The Initiator and brain behind the tournament, aimed at honouring the first Civilian Governor of Osun State, Otunba Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke, Rep Bamidele Salam, who represents the good people of Ede North Ede South, Egbedore and Ejigbo Federal Constituency, said the Competition will grow bigger next year, as more Corporate Bodies are expected to support the initiative.

Ojo Olowe of Atakumosa East FC with three goals, won the highest Goalscorer award, while Ajayi Iyanu of Osun FA won the best Goalkeeper award. The most valuable player of the tournament was won by Adeola Nifemi of Egbedore United, while Sola Ojedeni scooped the Best Coach award.

Full List of Individual Awards

Highest Goals Scorer – Ojo Olowe| Atakumosa East

Most Valuable Player| Adeola Nifemi| Egbedore United

Best Goalkeeper Award – Ajayi Iyanu| Osun FA

Best Coach Award| Sola Ojedeni |Egbedore United.


Oluchi Tobe-Chukwu

Oluchi Tobe-Chukwu popularly known as tobex is the Vice chairman of Sports writers Association of Nigeria , lagos Chapter. She Is also the Media Spokesperson of the Super Falcons of Nigeria. She is an award winning women's football writer. Tobex is also an ex footballer that was privileged to play in the first NFF organised women's league in 1990 as a player of Hamza Queens. Her last club as an active footballer was Ibom Angels as She paved way to further her education years ago. She is a Federal Government scholar , with a degree in Mass communication, a second degree in Public Relations and Advertising (Communication Studies). She is a Wife and Mother.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to content